At BCS, we’re on a mission to ensure everyone’s experience with technology is positive. It’s something we’ve been committed to since 1957.

Who we are

We’re thousands of members in 150 countries, and a wider community of business leaders, educators, practitioners and policy-makers all committed to our mission.
A leading IT qualification body, we offer a range of widely recognised qualifications.

BCS Higher Education Qualifications HEQ is accredited by Ofqual and is part of the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) at Higher Education Levels 4, 5 and 6.

Structure and Purpose of the Qualification BCS

HEQ is a three-stage UK undergraduate degree equivalent program of learning aimed at students with more limited IT knowledge, qualifications and professional experience to allow them to progress up to higher levels of knowledge and competency.

HEQ is mapped into theBCS SFIAplus 4 skills framework.

The objectives of HEQ are:

• To increase levels of competency and knowledge up to degree level

• To provide access to a Master’s qualification at a partner University

• To provide a route to BCS membership

Certificate in IT

Our Certificate in IT provides an essential education for any budding IT professional, delivering core knowledge across three mandatory modules.

Diploma in IT

The Diploma in IT comprises a core module and three modules which you select from a range of subjects, such as IT project management and software engineering. If you’re not progressing to the Professional Graduate Diploma in IT, you’ll also be required to complete a professional IT project as part of your Diploma in IT.

Professional Graduate Diploma in IT

To achieve the Professional Graduate Diploma in IT, you need to complete four modules, selected by you to suit your chosen career path, and a professional IT project.